Happy World Book Day! Books play such a big role in our house. If you follow my blog, you will know that I am completely obsessed with books. Much to my delight, our little girl has also developed a love for books and we are keen visitors of bookshops and libraries. For this year’s World Book Day, I have let my little one choose the character she wanted to be (secretly having my fingers crossed that it wouldn’t be anything too difficult – my crafting skills are definitely somewhat limited). Her choice: Tinker Bell (can you hear my sigh of relief?).

Tinker Bell

So off she went to nursery this morning with a teddy bear in her arms (the children are having a teddy bear picnic this afternoon), my little Tinker Bell.

Running in Lavender

This is certainly one of the most interesting blog tours I’ve ever taken part in. To celebrate Fiona Gibson’s newest release, The Woman Who Upped and Left, we were asked (or possibly even challenged) to create a recipe from the book. My pulse raced when I opened the email that contained the recipe we were given to try out. My little girl and I enjoy cooking and baking (although our culinary skills are limited – I’d love to be able to say we are Masterchefs, but that might be a slight exaggeration). When I saw that our recipe was Crème Brûlée, I recoiled. Don’t get me wrong, I love to eat this tasty dessert, but never thought I’d make it myself. I had seen too many TV shows, were Crème Brûlées curdled, resembled scrambled eggs, were too runny or the like. Oh well, the challenge was set. I was slightly more confident when I read the tagline underneath the recipe: “a super-easy take on the posh custard”. That sounded much better!

Creme brulee back Creme Brulee front

And here my finished result. Not too shabby for a first attempt, I think. I slightly burned the sugar on the outer corners, but shhh – no one will notice.

image

About the book

Forget about having it all. Sometimes you just want to leave it all behind.

Audrey is often seized by the urge to walk out of her house without looking back – but she can’t possibly do that.

She is a single parent. She is needed. She has a job, a home, responsibilities…and a slothful teenage son’s pants to pick up.

But no one likes being taken for granted – Audrey least of all – so the time has come for drastic action. And no one’s going to stand in her way…

The laugh-out-loud bestseller is back with the only book to buy this Mother’s Day. Perfect for fans of ‘Outnumbered’ and Carole Matthews, Fiona writes about life as it really is.

Blog tour banner

I will not lie, Autumn is definitely not one of my most favourite seasons. I can cope with the crisp, sunny Autumn days and of course the run-up to Christmas, but only thinking about the dull, wet, cold days makes me shiver. What do I do to cheer myself up? Think about holidays, of course.

Bucket List (1)

I love to travel and we have been to some pretty amazing destinations over the last few years, including Mexico, New Zealand and Canada. After we had our little one, we stopped travelling (that far away anyway) for a little while, but we are now ready to do some exploring again. Here is a list of places that we definitely want to discover in the future.

Iceland

  • Ever since we covered Iceland during a geography lesson back in school (a good 20 years ago now…), this country has been a dream destination of mine. Originally, we wanted to spend our honeymoon there, but decided to go for something warmer in the end. 

 New York

  • I would love to visit New York over the Christmas period at one point – seeing the big tree at Rockefeller Centre Plaza, browsing the 5th Avenue window displays, listening to Carol singers – this must all be so magical! 

Florida

  • Florida is probably on the list for so many parents. We would love to take our little girl to Walt Disney World. She is obsessed with princesses at the moment (especially Frozen) and is always so excited when she sees the advert for Orlando on TV. I reckon that this is the destination we will travel to rather sooner than later.

New Zealand

  • I love New Zealand! We visited this beautiful country almost 7 years ago, but we really want to go back. When we were there last time, we only managed to cover the North Island, but there is still so much more exploring to do.

Hawaii

  • My sister just returned from her holiday to Hawaii a few weeks back. She had such a good time and her pictures are absolutely stunning! Definitely a country to visit, that is very high up on our list.

Have you been to any of these destinations? Where do you want to travel?

 

You Baby Me Mummy

pregnancy loss

This is by far the hardest post I ever wrote, but at the same time it also feels incredibly liberating. Writing everything down, helps immensely with the coping process. I was getting ready to publish a completely different post – a pregnancy announcement, but sadly my pregnancy ended in miscarriage at 11 weeks. 

Unfortunately, this was not my first miscarriage. I had one a few years ago, before we had our beautiful little girl. We were devastated the first time it happened (I was 6 weeks along) and the truth is, it never gets any easier. However, I am very lucky to have an incredibly supportive husband and family. 

This time around, I had a missed miscarriage, which meant that the baby had passed away earlier (the doctors couldn’t tell me exactly when), but my body had failed to register that something was wrong. I started spotting at 11 weeks and with a heavy heart made an appointment with my GP. Spotting in pregnancy is not always a sign, that something is wrong, but I had a gut feeling. I was booked in for a scan the next morning. That night was horrendous. Not knowing whether there was a beautiful new life forming inside me or whether I was miscarrying was torturing. Sadly the scan confirmed my fears. On a positive note, the nurses and doctors in hospital were incredible – so nice, caring and supportive – Thank you!

I thought long and hard about publishing this post as it is something so very personal to share, but what really helped me in the first few weeks, after we found out that I was miscarrying, was looking through forums and realising that these early miscarriages happen to so many women and that I am not alone. There is so much encouragement to be found online. By sharing this post, I am hoping that I can give some of this encouragement to other women who are going through the same. There is always light at the end of the tunnel! it is hard to come to terms with pregnancy loss and it hurts (both physically and emotionally), but there is also an amazing support network out there – whether this is online or/and through family and friends. 

We will try again and will hopefully be able to give our little girl a baby brother or sister in the not so distant future.

It’s Thursday – which means, time to link up with the lovely Heledd from Running in Lavender for #MyCapturedMoment.

image

This picture was taken only last Sunday. It was a horribly dull and rainy day and we decided to take the car out for a little drive. We ended up in a garden centre, stopped for a little browse and ended up buying a new shed – oops! There was a rather large choice of sheds, summerhouses and playhouses. All of these exhibited items were open and ready for little (and big) explorers. My little one loved it (and so did we :-)). She was completely smitten with the playhouses. They really were amazing! And huge! Some of them even had a little ladder going up to a second floor. I love this photo of my little munchkin – she was so keen on exploring every small corner of the playhouse.

Running in Lavender